Mahou shoujo Madoka magica – First thoughts

Yeah, I’m a bit late on this one. I kind of shrugged it off as “just a magical girl anime”, but put it on my backlog anyway just in case. Seeing how much attention it has gotten I felt I had to check it out, and wow! If the rest of the series can match the first episode I think it’ll end up quite high on my personal top-list.

Great atmosphere, great music

I might have fallen in love with the intro. At the very least it has made sure that I will watch this series to its end. Dark atmosphere, ruined bildings, violins in the soundtrack – no complaints from me^^

Things got kind of trippy at one point. Had to check that I hadn't left an open jar of glue or something.

I guess that’s some kind of magical realm or field or such. Lots of weird stuff going on. Kind of confusing, but I get the feeling that it’ll mess with my head if I try to analyze it too much.

She manages to look pissed off and bored at the same time!

While Madoka is cute, I’m more interested in Homura. What’s her background, her goal, her motivations? How will her relation to Madoka develop? And…argh, can’t waste anymore time writing, gotta watch the next episode!

Leave a Reply

