Oretachi ni tsubasa wa nai – First thoughts

I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around this one. It’s based on an 18+ visual novel by the same name, so I went in expecting…well, this:

Yes, it was absolutely necessary to shoot from that angle.

And while it did deliver a bunch of panchira, breast massaging and other ecchi stuff coupled with the standard nosebleed there was something strange about it, something odd that I really couldn’t explain at first. Then it hit me: the characters feel mature. They’re not highschool students, but rather young adults struggling with work, university and similar things. Sure, they might behave immaturely from time to time, but it still is a pretty large step up from what I’m used to in this kind of series (I don’t want to say the norm since it might just be me having watched the wrong stuff…). Another thing I noticed is that the cast  has several male members, it might even be close to balance between the sexes. This is not your usual harem-or-whatever-ecchi-love-story, it feels like it at least wants to be darker and more grounded in the real world. I hope it can live up to that, and I’m looking forward to the next episode.

Yanagihara, the city, looks awesome. At times it feels like I've been there.

Leave a Reply

