Kore wa Zombie desu ka? – Final thoughts

Armor and sukumizu - no combination is too weird

So, Kore wa Zombie desu ka? ended recently. Last episode had the gang visit an indoor swimming pool and the girls debut as idols, trying to outperform each other. Yeah, the connection is kind of weak, but it’s more like a bonus episode than anything else so we’ll let that slide. And swimming pool, of course, means swimsuits. Every recent anime seems to need those. Oniichan no koto, Yumekui Merry, Infinite Stratos, the list goes on. It might be a case of recency illusion, swimsuits have always been popular I guess, but it feel like every series I watched this season had a beach or pool episode, and I can’t recall that happening for me ever before. Anyway, I guess I shouldn’t complain. Hmm, got kind of sidetracked I think. What was this post supposed to be about again? Oh yeah, my thoughts on KoreZombie.

I have mixed feelings. On one hand I don’t want this show to end already, on the other it feels like it might be enough for now. I want more of the energetic masou shoujo Haruna, the cold-and-distant-but-actually-gentle-and-caring vampire ninja Sera, and of course Yuu, the necromancer who have stolen a piece of my heart. Any more right now might be an overload however, there’s no telling if the concept can sustain itself for more consecutive episodes. I do really hope for a second season though.

One of the best parts about this series, I feel, is that it doesn’t take itself all that seriously. Sure, you get a little darker tone during the second half, but it still pretty much does what it wants, and not what would be logical or expected. The humour is scaled back a little to give room for more story during the later episodes, but it never disappears and doesn’t get dull. That the main characters are at least partially parodying standard archetypes like the Magical Girl adds another layer to the whole. All together a solid show, well worth watching. I’m also a bit curious about the light novels that are the original work of the series. I’m wondering how how this kind of story works in book form.

Leave a Reply

