Minecraft will destroy my life

I’ve been fighting against procrastination for a while, and I’m finally beginning to see some results, getting some routines up and am working on stuff I want to do instead of wasting time in the internet and what not. And now this happens. Minecraft. I love that game. And I hate that game.

I came across a review of it over on Blistered Thumbs, and it caught my interest. Watched some videos of it on youtube and before I knew it I had bought the game and spent 5 hours in one sitting. It. Is. Addictive.

Here’s the intro video from minecraft.net:

Minecraft is an open-ended sandbox game where you, as the name suggests, mine for materials and build things. You can also farm, hunt, kill monsters and more. The world is made up entirely of blocks, giving it a very retro look. But don’t be fooled by the seemingly simple graphics, the game requires quite a lot of resources to run. The reason for that is that the world is randomly generated on the fly as you play, and can in theory get infinitely large.

The best thing about the game, in my opinion, is the endless possibilities and the freedom there is to it. You can build anything, from a small house to live in, to huge underground mines, to complicated “electrical” circuits simulating complex logic, to 1:1 scale models of the starship Enterprise. If you have enough time and creativity, the only limit would be the height of the world, currently limited to 128 blocks. There is also a multiplayer mode, making huge project more feasible. Do a search on youtube to see some of the amazing things people with way too much free time can accomplish.

If you dont mind a game sucking up all you free time and then some, give minecraft a go. I was going to write more, but I’ll just stop here and go mine some gold and diamonds instead. Bye bye ^_^

Leave a Reply

